#NoisePollution: Baxter Dury

Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll…

Is what Baxter’s early life was surrounded with. Being the only son of Punk legend Ian Dury, it would come as little surprise that Baxter Dury would follow in his fathers footsteps.

downloadBaxter and Ian Dury – New Boots & Panties (1977)

Baxter didn’t jump on board too soon though, with the first 30 odd years of the young Dury’s life being far from the spotlight. It would seem almost too obvious for some to follow the road they have been given. Come the new millennium however, Baxter Dury gave in to his creative impulses with the release of his debut album, Floorshow.

Baxter’s music is something you hear at a fun fair on a rainy day. Put a half dozen middle aged punters in a rusting English boozer and you’d have a solid soundtrack to greet a sunny afternoon.

That being said, the sounds produced on his album’s are unique to any other, and shy away from following too far in his father’s footsteps. Baxter Dury has created a sound truly his own, a sound that resonates with each brick and market stall of England’s sprawling south-east.

14th of June 1912

I woke up feeling sprightly

Then I got out of bed, thought mama: “you done me proud”
Looked over the kitchen sink
Thought wow, that’s my house
I paid the mortgage, it’s mine
Got up, cup of coffee, went down nice tonight
Made me feel a bit moodkey
Then I sit up straight and proud, I knew I was a man
Thought mama: “he done me proud”Here comes the cocaine man
Here comes a manWe wear friendly smiles
All night

Get blooded on lucifer’s grave
Pray it never stop

Here comes the cocaine man
Here comes a man

So a car pulls up, and that guy downstairs
I’m wearing my best trousers
I’m feeling happy
Sunlight was shining down
I’m wearing toxsome blue shoes, with a crisp lime jazzerline
Beautiful here, the day’s beautiful too

Here comes the cocaine man
Here comes a man

We wear friendly smiles
All night

Get blooded on lucifer’s grave
Pray it never stop

Here comes the cocaine man
Here comes a man

Crash bang and I made it out she’s actually beautiful
She stands alone, not caring who’s looking
Her name’s Rebecca Trollop and I fall right into her trap
Bang, it’s disgusting

Here comes the cocaine man
Here comes a man

We wear friendly smiles
All night

Get blooded on lucifer’s grave
Pray it never stop

Here comes the cocaine man
Here comes a man

***
Leave a Reply

